Wash teeth if any & other wise advice for a better world.

woodyguthrie

 

It’s the time of new year’s resolution. When we all take score and work out a game plan for the next 365 days.
It’s probably the most basic form of automated progress that happens with us lot.

Fascinating looking at this list that’s doing the rounds from Woody Guthrie.
1942.
Few things come to mind: One, it’s perfectly transposable to today.
Proof that certain values don’t change with the times.
They stay as constant as the spinning and ruination of the earth.
Wake up and fight. Make up your mind. Eat good. Read lots Good Books. Stay glad. Keep hoping machine running.

Pragmatism. Optimism.
To survive. To thrive. The two tension points of existence.
How much has changed?
Often we look back and use the excuse, ‘But things were simpler back then.’
Were they? I doubt it.
Life complexity is relative. Like a Patek Philippe, it gets past down from generation to generation, as time ticks on. (side note: time keeps ticking even when the watch doesn’t.)

What’s important, I reckon, are the simple truths that navigate timeless complexity.
The simple truths that Woodie, who had a remarkable understanding and empathy for life, wrote to himself (and now us) back in ’42.
Change socks. Shave. Help win war. Beat fascism…
…Beat Ebola. Beat ethnic war. Beat indifference. Beat greed.
Yeah?
I’m in.
Woodie Guthrie. We’ll do our best.
Colgate, you handle the teeth part.

Some of his incredible words about the passing and appreciation of time.

One by one.

One by one the teardrops fall as I write to you
One by one my words come falling on the page
One by one my dreams are fading in the twilight
One by one my schemes are failing fast away

One by one the flowers fade here in my garden
One by one the leaves are falling from the trees
One by one my hopes are vanished in the clouds dear
One by one like snowflakes melting in the breeze

One by one my hair is turning grey
One by one my dreams are fading fast away
One by one I read your letters over
One by one I lay them all away

One by one the days are slipping up behind you
One by one the sweetest days of life go by
One by one the moments stealing up behind you
One by one she’ll come and find not you or I

One by one I hear the soft words that you whispered
One by one I feel your kisses soft and sweet
One by one I hope you’ll say the words to marry
One by one to one by one forever be

Read more:  Woody Guthrie – One By One Lyrics | MetroLyrics

 

 

One thought on “Wash teeth if any & other wise advice for a better world.

Leave a Reply

